Health Plan Metal Tiers

Qualified Health Plans offered through HAP and private exchanges are ranked using metal tiers: Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum. The idea behind metal tiers is to allow you to compare health plans with similar coverage value (the technical term is actuarial value).

Each level provides a certain percentage of coverage, or the amount the plan would cover for health care costs:

  • Bronze – 60%
  • Silver – 70%
  • Gold – 80%
  • Platinum – 90%

  • Bronze health plans usually will have the lowest premiums and highest out-of-pocket costs – copays, deductibles and coinsurance – while Platinum health plans typically have the highest premiums and lower member cost-sharing.

    What are you waiting for?